Draft footprints are only available on the device on which you create them. Therefore, you must upload a footprint for it to be visible on your other devices. However, to prevent your followers from seeing it unfinished, turn on the “Private” switch for the footprint before uploading it.
When you're done editing your footprint, turn off the “Private” switch and save it. It will then be published and your followers will be informed via push notification.