Planning a trip with FindPenguins is simple. Please follow the instructions below:
Before the trip
- Create a new trip with the planned dates in the future.
- Now post footprints for the places you plan to visit. For these footprints, choose the planned date in the future. If so, a planned switch will appear automatically that is turned on but disabled.
- You can now enter any information freely and upload your travel documents (e.g. tickets), etc.
- Planned footprints are private and only visible to you and fellow travelers.
- On our maps, there are straight lines between these footprints. If you want more details on your planned route, you can use our edit route feature to further edit it.
How can I add, move or delete (inaccurate) Travel Tracker waypoints on my map?
How do I auto-complete my travel route?
During the trip
When the date of a planned footprint is reached, edit it and add your travel stories, photos, and videos. Turn off the planned switch, which is not disabled anymore. The footprint is now changed to non-planned; it becomes visible according to your privacy settings, it adds up to your statistics, and your followers are notified via push notification.
After the trip
You should have converted all your planned footprints. If not, it is advisable to delete the remaining planned footprints.
Then use our ”Edit route” route feature to delete the planned route. You can select a range of all waypoints that you want to delete; it is not necessary to delete every single waypoint by itself.